PHOTO GALLERY: 2018 Art Challenge

The LeFlore County Historical Society's third annual Art Challenge crowned its winners in a reception Thursday evening at the LeFlore County Museum at Hotel Lowrey.

Bob Lowrey presented the awards to the area high school students. Students created art in three categories — traditional, graphic design and photography. It was the first year for the latter two categories.

Entries overall doubled over the last year, making it the largest art challenge to date with more than 70 entries. Students could submit more than one piece, and there were more than 40 individual students entrants.

Winners included the following:

• Photography: First place — Lily Shore; second place — Alex Driver; third place — Savannah Ashley; and honorable mentions — Jade McCoy and Lily Shore.

• Digital/3D/Graphic Design: First place — Jakki Davis; second place — Andrew Liddell; third place — Dylan Rodgers; and honorable mentions — Kaylee Pinkerten and Dayla McGarrah.

• Traditional: First place — Joanna DuBois; second place — Elizabeth Baeza; third place — Desiree Maden; and honorable mentions — Madeline McBride and Juan Baeza.

• Destiny Francis won Mayor's Choice. DuBois and Elizabeth Baeza, traditional art winners, also won Chamber of Commerce Director's Choice

First-place students were awarded $200, second-place $150 and third-place $100. Ribbons were handed out to winners. Lowrey, Judith Moore and Susan Jenson donated the prize money.